News Archives

Who did Gil Brandt snub from his “All-Time Bill Belichick Team”?

July 16th, 2017 at 6:42 AM
By Sports Media 101

Former NFL executive Gil Brandt decided to construct an “All-Time Bill Belichick Team” to look at the best players that played under head coach Bill Belichick (Cleveland Browns 1991-95; New England Patriots 2000-present). You can check out the full article here along with Brandt’s explanations for each of his choices.

Brandt could have easily constructed his team entirely of New England Patriots, but for the sake of the article, he bumped some worthy Patriots off the list in favor of some Cleveland Browns.

Here’s the full team.

Offense: QB Tom Brady, RB Corey Dillon, WR Randy Moss, WR Julian Edelman, WR Wes Welker, TE Rob Gronkowski, LT Matt Light, LG Logan Mankins, C Dan Koppen, RG Stephen Neal, RT Orlando Brown (Cleveland)

Defense: DL Richard Seymour, DL Vince Wilfork, DL Willie McGinest, LB Tedy Bruschi, LB Mike Vrabel, LB Dont’a Hightower, LB Jerod Mayo, CB Ty Law, CB Asante Samuel, S Rodney Harrison, S Eric Turner (Cleveland)

Special Teams: K Adam Vinatieri, P Tom Tupa (Cleveland), ST Matthew Slater, KR Kevin Faulk

One note of interest from Brandt is this fact on Wes Welker that I hadn’t previously known. Welker had 1,121 career yards from scrimmage in his three seasons prior to joining the Patriots. In his six years in New England, he exceeded 1,121 all but once (his injury-limited 2010 season with 848 yards).

When looking at Brandt’s list, it’s clear that he’s only looking at the production of the player under Bill Belichick, or else CB Darrelle Revis would have been an easy choice for the list.

So with that in mind, here are my potential snubs:

RT Sebastian Vollmer vs Orlando Brown. Orlando Brown was fine at right tackle, but Vollmer was an All Pro talent. There’s no question that Vollmer’s …

Read Original Post at

Sports Media 101 searches and spiders for news it aggregates from across the web about your favorite sport or sports team. This article is originally posted at another site not affiliated with Sports Media 101. The portion of the article posted here is to provide a sample of the content available at the linked site. Please click the link to read the full article. Sports Media 101 does not claim any ownership to the content and all rights are retained by the original copyright owner.

Tags: Adam Vinatieri, Asante Samuel, Brandt’s explanations for each of his choices, Cleveland Browns, Corey Dillon, Dan Koppen, Darrelle Revis, Devin McCourty, Jerod Mayo, Julian Edelman, Kevin Faulk, Logan Mankins, Malcolm Butler, Matt Light, Matthew Slater, Mike Vrabel, New England Patriots, Pro Bowl, Randy Moss, Richard Seymour, Rob Gronkowski, Rodney Harrison, Ryan Allen, Sebastian Vollmer, Stephen Gostkowski, Stephen Neal, Tedy Bruschi, Tom Brady, Ty Law, Vince Wilfork, Vote Now, Wes Welker

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: